A Year of Being Single by Fiona Collins

21st April 2016

What the publisher says:

 

Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Helen Fielding and Fiona Gibson, A Year of Being Single is the laugh-out-loud debut that everyone’s talking about!

Best friends Imogen, Frankie and Grace decide to test whether the grass really is greener on the single side of the fence…

Imogen is supposed to be on the most romantic weekend of her life and instead she’s quickly realised that her current boyfriend definitely isn’t ‘The One’ and actually One Big Mistake.

Frankie is fed up. Fed up of her good-for-nothing husband and her four, unappreciative children. Well, they hardly notice her anyway, maybe it’s time to shake it up a little…

Grace thought she had the perfect life. Gorgeous little boy and perfect, hardworking husband. Or rather, she did, until she realised her husband was shagging his ‘work’.

It’s time for a change – and to ditch the men who are dragging them down! It’s time for a year of being single. Swearing off men, these single ladies don’t need to put a ring on it…right?

 

What I say:

 

Three friends realise on the same day that their relationships are not healthy and they need to change them.  Imogen decides that the three of them should swear off men for a year and enjoy being single.

At this point I thought it was obvious what would happen – all of them would meet someone and they would not last a year as singletons.

How wrong was I!  The author cleverly added a few twists and although there were men involved it was not at all a predictable ending.  I was very pleased with the outcome and this really lifted the book into something a little out of the ordinary.

I also enjoyed the fact that although this book could be categorised as “chicklit” the characters were older than usual and still feisty and strong women.

 

Rating 5 out of 5

 

 

 

 

 

No Comments

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: