**BLOG TOUR** It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton

8th December 2017

What the publisher says:

Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic with a hopeless love life – until now. New beau Dan ticks all the boxes: he’s good-looking, kind and thoughtful. The complete opposite of Bea’s ex, who once threw her out in the middle of the night when she was ill so she didn’t disrupt his sleep.

So when her friends point out that she and Dan don’t have fireworks, Bea ignores them. Dan is the whole package. And yet Bea can’t stop comparing him to her best friend Henry… Because Dan doesn’t get Bea’s jokes. Or like books. Or make her laugh until she can’t breathe. Or become speechless when Bea puts on her favourite black dress for a night out… 

As time goes on, Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. On paper Dan is the perfect man. But in reality… Will Bea be brave enough to ask for more from life – and get the fireworks she deserves?

A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.

 

What I say:

 

This is the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I do now wonder what I have been missing out on!  Right from Chapter One I was drawn into this story about Bea and her good friend, colleague and landlord Henry and her belief that dreams come true if you are in the right place at the right time.

Since she was young Bea has dreamt about meeting the man of her dreams in a particular situation so when she meets Dan it seems her destiny is all sown up for her.   She can’t escape the niggling doubt that there is something not quite right however, as her friends relate their relationship histories to her.

The characters are likeable and rounded and seem very much based in reality.  Bea is inexperienced in relationships and freely admits it, Henry can only be described as sweet and about as un-Alpha male as possible and Freya freely admits to sleeping her way through the female population of London, although she does seem to settle down during the course of the book.

There are no surprises with the book.  It is a romcom and we all know how it will end but the story to get there was highly amusing and enjoyable and has sent me off in search of more books by Keris Stainton.

 

Rating 4 out of 5

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: