**BLOG TOUR** The Woman Next Door by Sue Watson

24th May 2019

What the publisher says:

‘Have you ever had a secret that you couldn’t tell a soul, even the people you love? I have.’

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life – with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend – is more glamorous than Lucy’s.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it is to keep her past to herself. But Amber’s boyfriend has left her just when she needs him most, and she doesn’t have anyone else.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend… can’t she?

Gripping and unputdownable, The Woman Next Door tells a story about the dark side of friendship, and has a final twist that will shock every reader. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainFriend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.

 

What I say:

As a huge fan of Sue Watson’s comedy novels I jumped at the chance to find out how she would deal with one of my other favourite genres.  I was hugely impressed with this novel and found it hard to remember that this was the same author.

Lucy is impressed, and more than a little star struck, when her new neighbour turns out to be Amber, a weather girl on the local news.  After a bumpy start the two of them become firm friends and gradually their lives become ever more intertwined.  When it emerges that Amber has a stalker Lucy helps her deal with this and the two of them become even closer despite the reluctance of Lucy’s husband Matt to become involved.

The novel switches viewpoint between the two women and a mysterious unknown person but all is explained clearly at the end.

This book kept me gripped from the start with the twists and turns.  About two thirds in I thought I had it all worked out and yet I was caught out by the ending.  I gasped several times with sheer amazement at the skill of the writing.  This is a book  I highly recommend.

Rating 5 out of 5

 

About the author:

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

A USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fourteen novels, many involving cake and ice cream which have been translated into several languages and involved a great deal of ‘research.’ Sue’s now exploring the darker side of life with her second thriller ‘The Woman Next Door’ a dark, twisted tale questioning just how well we know our friends. This new genre doesn’t involve baked goods or frozen treats and Sue’s hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent procrastinating, eating and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: