The Year of Taking Chances by Lucy Diamond
Reviews / 28th April 2016

What the publisher says:   From the bestselling author of The Beach Cafe, Lucy Diamond, comes The Year of Taking Chances, a novel full of warmth, humour and romance. Because love is always worth the risk . . . It’s New Year’s Eve, and Gemma and Spencer Bailey are throwing a house party. There’s music, dancing, champagne and all their best friends under one roof. It’s going to be a night to remember. Also at the party is Caitlin, who has returned to the village to pack up her much-missed mum’s house and to figure out what to do with her life; and Saffron, a PR executive who’s keeping a secret which no amount of spin can change. The three women bond over Gemma’s dodgy cocktails and fortune cookies, and vow to make this year their best one yet. But as the months unfold, Gemma, Saffron and Caitlin find themselves tested to their limits by shocking new developments. Family, love, work, home – all the things they’ve taken for granted are thrown into disarray. Under pressure, they are each forced to rethink their lives and start over. But dare they take a chance on something new?        …

A Year of Being Single by Fiona Collins
Reviews / 21st April 2016

What the publisher says:   Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Helen Fielding and Fiona Gibson, A Year of Being Single is the laugh-out-loud debut that everyone’s talking about! Best friends Imogen, Frankie and Grace decide to test whether the grass really is greener on the single side of the fence… Imogen is supposed to be on the most romantic weekend of her life and instead she’s quickly realised that her current boyfriend definitely isn’t ‘The One’ and actually One Big Mistake. Frankie is fed up. Fed up of her good-for-nothing husband and her four, unappreciative children. Well, they hardly notice her anyway, maybe it’s time to shake it up a little… Grace thought she had the perfect life. Gorgeous little boy and perfect, hardworking husband. Or rather, she did, until she realised her husband was shagging his ‘work’. It’s time for a change – and to ditch the men who are dragging them down! It’s time for a year of being single. Swearing off men, these single ladies don’t need to put a ring on it…right?   What I say:   Three friends realise on the same day that their relationships are not healthy and they need to change…

The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele
Reviews / 16th April 2016

What the publisher says:   All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she’ll never find love again. A year ago, Sadie Stewart’s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief. Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network – the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking. As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet … A delightfully romantic tale of love,…

Truth or Date by Portia MacIntosh
Reviews / 12th April 2016

What the publisher says: Ruby Wood is perfectly happy playing the dating game – until she has a red-hot dream about her very attractive flatmate, Nick. He might spend every day saving lives as a junior doctor, but he’s absolutely the last man on earth that fun-loving Ruby would ever date! The solution? Focus on all of Nick’s bad points. And if that fails, up her dating antics and find herself a man! So what if she manages to make disapproving, goody two-shoes Nick jealous in the process… Only, after a series of nightmare first dates, there’s still just one man on Ruby’s mind. Maybe it’s time to admit the truth and dare to ask Nick to be her next date?     What I say:   This was an author I had not heard much about so when there was a chance to receive a kindle copy of her book in exchange for a review I jumped at the chance without having read the premise of the book first.  The book started well and I was delighted to discover the setting for the story was Leeds and it’s surrounds as although I live in Devon I am originally from Leeds. …

Perfect Alibis by Jane Wenham-Jones
Reviews / 9th April 2016

What the publisher says: PA’s agency offers Perfect Alibis for the unfaithful. Stephanie – bored housewife and disillusioned mother – wants a job, and Madeleine’s recruitment company appears to be the ideal place to go. Except that PAs isn’t quite what it seems. Far from providing companies with Personal Assistants, the agency offers Perfect Alibis to unfaithful women. And as Stephanie soon discovers, there are lots of them about! Founder member Patsy is a serial philanderer and there’s a dark side to her best friend Millie. For the well-heeled ladies of Edenhurst, PA’s is a ticket to risk-free adultery. So when Stephanie’s first love, Troy returns to town even she is tempted. But her life is soon in turmoil, and that’s before the tabloids get involved…. What I say..

%d bloggers like this: