Rumour Has it by Jill Mansell
Reviews / 7th April 2016

What the publisher says:   In RUMOUR HAS IT by bestselling author Jill Mansell, Tilly’s not looking for love, but love certainly has its eye on her! Perfect for readers of Milly Johnson and Lucy Diamond. When newly single Tilly Cole impulsively quits her London job for a fresh start in the small town of Roxborough she finds she’s arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue and rampant rivalry for the most desirable men. Tilly has no intention of joining in – she’s just happy with her new Girl Friday job. Then she meets Jack Lucas. Jack is irresistible… and he’s got his eye on Tilly. But there are shocking rumours about his wicked reputation. Tilly doesn’t want to be just another notch on anyone’s bedpost. But is she being mature and sensible – or is she running away from the love of her life?   Click here to buy: What I Say

The Teacher by Katerina Diamond
Reviews / 31st March 2016

What the publisher says: You think you know who to trust? You think you know the difference between good and evil? You’re wrong … A LESSON YOU WILL NEVER FORGET The body of the head teacher of an exclusive Devon school is found hanging from the rafters in the assembly hall. Hours earlier he’d received a package, and only he could understand the silent message it conveyed. It meant the end. As Exeter suffers a rising count of gruesome deaths, troubled DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles must solve the case and make their city safe again. But as they’re drawn into a network of corruption, lies and exploitation, every step brings them closer to grim secrets hidden at the heart of their community. And once they learn what’s motivating this killer, will they truly want to stop him? Click book to purchase What I say:  

The Chocolate Lover’s Christmas by Carole Matthews
Reviews / 31st March 2016

What the publisher says: Christmas is just around the corner but the women of The Chocolate Lovers’ Club have more to worry about than present shopping . . . Lucy loves running Chocolate Heaven but she hasn’t spent time with her boyfriend, Aiden, in weeks. And then her ex-fiance turns up and things become even more complicated. Nadia hasn’t let herself get close to a man in a long time, yet she can’t help feeling drawn to Jacob. Will he be her last chance for a happy ending? Chantal and her husband, Ted, are besotted with their baby daughter Lana – but she’s not sure that’s enough to base a marriage on. Autumn is dealing with a tragedy that has hit too close to home. But when she doesn’t get the support she needs from her fiance, will she look elsewhere for comfort? Can friendship overcome all in . . . The Chocolate Lovers’ Christmas. Click to buy What I say: Chocolate and Christmas together, what’s not to like about that combination (unless you are my mother who detests Christmas)?  This novel centres on the relationship between four friends who have a common love for chocolate.  When the story starts the group meet at Chocolate…

Me & You by Claudia Carroll
Reviews / 31st March 2016

What the publisher says: Heartbreaking and uplifting, Me and You is a story about how hard it is to leave our old selves behind, the tough choices we sometimes have to make and how love and friendship can heal the most damaged of hearts. “I’m fine. I’m sorry. Please take care of him for me. And maybe one day I’ll get to explain.” Angie knows a lot about her best friend Kitty. She knows Kitty is mad and wild and loves to wear clashing colours. She knows she’s incredibly funny and generous but also very unreliable. And she knows that there is a perfect explanation for Kitty standing her up on her birthday. She thinks she knows everything about Kitty, except she doesn’t. Kitty knows that she is the happiest she has ever been. She knows she’s so lucky to have a lovely boyfriend, Simon and a best friend like Angie. But what she doesn’t know is that on this night, her past is finally going to catch up with her and change everything. If you love Marian Keyes and Melissa Hill you’ll adore Claudia Carroll’s Me and You. What I say: I wasn’t sure what to expect from this…

The Art of Baking Blind by Sarah Vaughan
Reviews / 31st March 2016

What the publisher says: Five amateur bakers compete in a baking competition and discover that the vision of perfect domesticity they aspire to may not be the whole truth. For book club readers everywhere whose tastes range from The Help, One Dayand The Other Hand to Katie Fforde and Gill Hornby. There are many reasons to bake: to feed; to create; to impress; to nourish; to define ourselves; and, sometimes, it has to be said, to perfect. But often we bake to fill a hunger that would be better filled by a simple gesture from a dear one. We bake to love and be loved. In 1966, Kathleen Eaden, cookery writer and wife of a supermarket magnate, published The Art of Baking, her guide to nurturing a family by creating the most exquisite pastries, biscuits and cakes. Now, five amateur bakers are competing to become the New Mrs Eaden. There’s Jenny, facing an empty nest now her family has flown; Claire, who has sacrificed her dreams for her daughter; Mike, trying to parent his two kids after his wife’s death; Vicki, who has dropped everything to be at home with her baby boy; and Karen, perfect Karen, who knows what it’s like to have nothing…

%d bloggers like this: