The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele

16th April 2016

What the publisher says:

 

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she’ll never find love again.

A year ago, Sadie Stewart’s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.

Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network – the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.

As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet …

A delightfully romantic tale of love, friendship and putting your best foot forward, for fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse.

 

<

 

What I say:

This is a difficult book to review.  I initially started to read this as I had seen lots of the publicity around the book and wanted to try out Marcie Steele as an author.  The storyline went well and it was well written.  Why a difficult review then?  Well, I found myself at the end of the story feeling a little let down, I am not sure whether it was by the ending or because I found myself a little indifferent towards Riley, the main character.    Unlike some other books I have read lately I didn’t find that I was drawn to finish this book to the exception of all other reading.

 

Riley loves her job and is a good friend as well boss to her colleagues Dan and Sadie,  and is prepared to try anything to stop the horrible owner Suzanne closing the shop down because it is not as successful as she (Suzanne) would like.  This brings about antics which bring publicity to the shop, both good and bad.  Then, nasty boss Suzanne changes her ways and comes to visit Riley at home.  I think this is the point I lost interest in the plot as I realised I didn’t really care if the shoe shop closed down and what would happen to the employees.    It was not a surprise that Ethan and Riley ended up together and I wasn’t really impressed at her plans for the future.

 

Rating 3 out of 5

No Comments

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: