Stable Mates by Zara Stoneley

1st May 2016

What the publisher says:

Welcome to tranquil Tippermere, an idyllic village nestled deep in the Cheshire countryside. Home to lords and ladies, horsemen and farmers, and plenty of secrets and scandals…

Leaving a scumbag ex behind her, Lottie Brinkley has hotfooted it out of Spain and back home to the country in serious need of some flirtatious fun to soothe her aching heart.

Luckily for her she’s spoilt for choice with not one but three eligible bachelors offering a steamy romp in the hay! But faced with the attentions of roguish eventer Rory Steel, the smiling Irish eyes of hunky farrier Mick O’Neal, and mysterious newcomer Tom Strachan, how can she possibly choose?

When billionaire landowner Marcus James drops dead unexpectedly, his WAGish wife Amanda threatens to sell the heart of the village and sets her sights on Tom! It seems things are heating up for little Tippermere… both in and out of the saddle.

A hilarious, sexy rom com perfect for fans of Jilly Cooper!

 

What I say:

 

I bought this book as a special offer promotion for 99p limited time offer.  Otherwise I probably would not have considered this book with its promises of a glitzy life with horses, nether of which I know anything about.  I was a little daunted from the start as the tried and trusted Jilly Cooper model of explaining the characters before the story introduced several characters and I wondered how I would keep track of them all before I started.  Well, at times the writing made it difficult for me to follow who was saying what quite often dialogue would not be accompanied by a “he said/she said”.  I appreciate it is not always necessary but that does depend on all the characters having a unique voice and I am not sure that they did in this novel.  There were so many twists and turns and sub plots that around three quarters of the way in I found myself just rushing through so that I could finish and move onto my next read, something which rarely happens.   I was also left with a feeling that not all the plots were finished although perhaps that was deliberate as this is part of a series.   Ultimately I couldn’t find redeeming features in the characters to make me care enough about what happened to them

 

Rating 2 out of 5

No Comments

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: