**BLOG TOUR** Beginnings by Helen J Christmas
Reviews / 7th January 2018

What the publisher says: Beginnings is a romantic thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. Eleanor Chapman is 16. She has no idea her father is employed in a world of organised crime until the day he is forced to go on the run, leaving her at the mercy of dangerous people. Her life is spiralling out of control yet on the night she plans to escape, she stumbles across a mysterious prisoner. His name is Jake, a rock musician from Holland and he has a contract on his life. Their daring escape across London eventually draws them into a place of hiding before Jake’s chilling story begins to unfold. He was the one vital witness to a sinister scene leading up to the death of a British MP and now those responsible want him silenced. As two young people, thrown together by fate they develop intense feelings for each other. It does not take long for Eleanor to realise that she will do anything possible to keep Jake alive. Their tender love bond keeps you turning the pages as they live on a knife edge, desperate to escape London. Will they outrun the deadly enemies who stalk…

**BLOG TOUR** It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton
Uncategorised / 8th December 2017

What the publisher says: Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic with a hopeless love life – until now. New beau Dan ticks all the boxes: he’s good-looking, kind and thoughtful. The complete opposite of Bea’s ex, who once threw her out in the middle of the night when she was ill so she didn’t disrupt his sleep.So when her friends point out that she and Dan don’t have fireworks, Bea ignores them. Dan is the whole package. And yet Bea can’t stop comparing him to her best friend Henry… Because Dan doesn’t get Bea’s jokes. Or like books. Or make her laugh until she can’t breathe. Or become speechless when Bea puts on her favourite black dress for a night out… As time goes on, Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. On paper Dan is the perfect man. But in reality… Will Bea be brave enough to ask for more from life – and get the fireworks she deserves?A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.   What I say:   This is the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I do now wonder what I have been missing out on!  Right…

** BLOG TOUR** My Girlfriend’s Perfect Ex-Boyfriend by Peter Jones
Reviews / 27th October 2017

What the publisher says: Adrian Turner, Mountaineer, Secret Agent, Fireman… Ade would dearly like to be any of these things, though he’d trade them all to win the heart of feisty Public Relations Executive, Paige. Instead, he’s a disillusioned school teacher, on suspension, after an unfortunate incident with a heavy piece of computer equipment. And somebody’s foot. And Paige? Despite being his girlfriend for the past eighteen months, she still seems to have one foot out of the door and hasn’t quite committed to leaving a toothbrush in the bathroom. Of course, it doesn’t help that she’s working with her ex-boyfriend, Sebastian. A man who in almost every way imaginable is better, taller, wealthier, hairier, and infinitely more successful than Ade. Is Paige still in love with Sebastian? Why then did she suggest they get away for a few days? Some place romantic… But when Adrian finds himself in Slovenia – with Sebastian in the room down the hall – he realises there’s serious possibility that he’s in danger of losing his job, his mind, and the woman he loves… What I say: This is a romance novel through and through but with one main difference, we see Adrian’s point…

**BLOG TOUR** How Not to Be a Bride by Portia MacIntosh
Reviews / 20th October 2017

What the publisher says: Definitely, maybe…yes? Mia Valentina gave up her high-flying life in LA to move back to Kent over four years ago. But it turns out that life in the slow lane isn’t all it’s cracked up to be! So when her boyfriend Leo proposes, she says yes, hoping it will bring some much needed sparkle back into her life. The trouble is, Mia never wanted a big white wedding, just the happy ever after… What I say: This is the story of the fantastically named Mia Valentina and her boyfriend/fiance Leo.   Mia has returned from Los Angeles where she was living a glamorous life mixing with movie stars as part of her life as a screen writer.  She now finds herself living a solitary existence at home as a novelist, her move meaning she had left behind anyone she could think of as a friend. When her boyfriend proposes (with the full knowledge of her family – eeek!) she is over the moon and yet something seems to be causing her problems when it comes to the organisation of what should be the happiest day of her life.  Throw in her new job shadowing a rock star to learn…

**BLOG TOUR** Untainted Blood by Liz Mistry
Reviews / 31st August 2017

What the publisher says: In a city that is already volatile, tensions mount  after a Tory MP in Bradford Central is discredited leaving the door open for the extreme right-wing candidate, Graeme Weston, to stand in the resultant by-election. However, Graeme Weston is not what he appears to be and with secrets jeopardising his political career, he must tread very carefully. Meanwhile, a serial killer targets Asian men who lead alternatives lifestyles and metes out his own form of torture. As DI Gus McGuire’s team close in, the deranged killer begins to unravel and in an unexpected twist the stakes are raised for Gus. Are the murders linked to the political scandals or is there another motive behind them? DI Gus McGuire and his team are back and this might be their toughest case yet.   What I say: Untainted Blood is the third in the DI Gus McGuire series of books. Like the previous novels, the setting is Bradford and the characters are drawn from the diverse local population. It is clear that the author knows the city, and it’s inhabitants, well and she interweaves them into the book in such a way that the reader feels they know them…

%d bloggers like this: