**BLOG TOUR** It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton
Uncategorised / 8th December 2017

What the publisher says: Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic with a hopeless love life – until now. New beau Dan ticks all the boxes: he’s good-looking, kind and thoughtful. The complete opposite of Bea’s ex, who once threw her out in the middle of the night when she was ill so she didn’t disrupt his sleep.So when her friends point out that she and Dan don’t have fireworks, Bea ignores them. Dan is the whole package. And yet Bea can’t stop comparing him to her best friend Henry… Because Dan doesn’t get Bea’s jokes. Or like books. Or make her laugh until she can’t breathe. Or become speechless when Bea puts on her favourite black dress for a night out… As time goes on, Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. On paper Dan is the perfect man. But in reality… Will Bea be brave enough to ask for more from life – and get the fireworks she deserves?A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.   What I say:   This is the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I do now wonder what I have been missing out on!  Right…

** BLOG TOUR** My Girlfriend’s Perfect Ex-Boyfriend by Peter Jones
Reviews / 27th October 2017

What the publisher says: Adrian Turner, Mountaineer, Secret Agent, Fireman… Ade would dearly like to be any of these things, though he’d trade them all to win the heart of feisty Public Relations Executive, Paige. Instead, he’s a disillusioned school teacher, on suspension, after an unfortunate incident with a heavy piece of computer equipment. And somebody’s foot. And Paige? Despite being his girlfriend for the past eighteen months, she still seems to have one foot out of the door and hasn’t quite committed to leaving a toothbrush in the bathroom. Of course, it doesn’t help that she’s working with her ex-boyfriend, Sebastian. A man who in almost every way imaginable is better, taller, wealthier, hairier, and infinitely more successful than Ade. Is Paige still in love with Sebastian? Why then did she suggest they get away for a few days? Some place romantic… But when Adrian finds himself in Slovenia – with Sebastian in the room down the hall – he realises there’s serious possibility that he’s in danger of losing his job, his mind, and the woman he loves… What I say: This is a romance novel through and through but with one main difference, we see Adrian’s point…

Four Bridesmaids and a White Wedding by Fiona Collins
Reviews / 10th May 2017

What the publisher says: Rose, Sal and JoJo have been looking forward to their best friend Wendy’s hen party for ages. A relaxing spa break is the perfect way to escape their crazy careers, grumpy husbands and stroppy children – even if the groom’s straight-laced sister, Tamsin, is coming too. Until they realise that there’s been a mistake in the booking and instead of sipping prosecco in fluffy white dressing gowns they’re off to bridesmaid bootcamp! Squeezing themselves reluctantly into tiny shorts and sliding through the mud, it’s only a matter of time before secrets emerge that could change everything… Forget about saving the date, these four bridesmaids need to save the day – otherwise will there even be a white wedding at all? What I say: This is a lovely light-hearted treat of a book. The four friends of the title have known each other since their first year at university and have seen each other through the ups and downs of each of their relationships. The bride to be is Wendy who, despite the positive vibes from her friends, has genuine doubts about whether she is really good enough for her fiance. When her ex boyfriend Steve reappears…

You Had Me At Merlot by Lisa Dickenson
Reviews / 21st February 2017

What the publisher says: Elle and Laurie are the last ones standing: they’re single, they’re not having babies any time soon and their weekends aren’t filled with joyful meetings about mortgages. For Elle, this is fine. She likes her independent life, but Laurie wants love and she wants it now. So when Laurie begs Elle to come with her on a singles holiday to a beautiful vineyard in Tuscany, Elle is reluctant. She has no intention of swapping her perfectly lovely life for someone else’s idea of her Mr Perfect, but ten days under the Italian sun with her best friend and lashings of wine? How bad could that be?   ;   What I say: Well, I loved the title of this book and had heard many good things about it on Twitter so I had to give it a go.  Thankfully I wasn’t disappointed as the book made me laugh out loud from the first page.  I got some funny looks on my commute that day I can tell you! Elle is happily single and living in London when her friend Laurie decides that what they both need is a holiday in Italy. To be precise what they…

The Mercury Travel Club by Helen Bridgett
Reviews / 20th February 2017

What the publisher says: Hi, I’m Angela. My husband ran off with the caterer we hired for our daughter’s graduation party. Pleased to meet you.’ Meet Angie Shepherd who, after 24 years and 11 months of marriage, finds herself divorced and driven by friends and family to move on. From hangover to makeover, Angie steps firmly away from the sensible knitwear, and launches into every adventure on offer from baking classes and book groups, to speed dating, and even ‘The Granny-Okes’, a 1980s tribute act and YouTube sensation. But Angie needs more than a bar of galaxy and a night in with Murder She Wrote… what she dreams of is entrepreneurial success. Channelling her inner Richard Branson, the light bulb moment happens: it’s time to take the plunge and invest her divorce settlement into The Mercury Travel Club, an exciting new business venture. But as the Travel Club gets going, things don’t go according to plan, and in this digital age a little chaos brings the fame she s been looking for. Set in present-day Manchester, this classic mid-life journey features the 1980s soundtrack from Angie s youth, and sees her travel the world whilst coping with life after the…

%d bloggers like this: