Love, Lies and Lemon Cake by Sue Watson
Reviews / 29th December 2016

What the publisher says: Love, Lies and Lemon Cake is a hilarious, bittersweet comedy about taking your life back before it’s too late. Faye Dobson has lost her sparkle. Living on film star fantasies and vague memories of a marriage that once was, she can’t help feeling that life is passing her by. She dreams of being whisked to Paris for dinner, making three wishes at the Trevi fountain and having sex under the stars. But the wrinkles are multiplying, her husband’s passion is for plumbing, and the nearest she’ll get to Rome is a take-away pizza. So when Faye meets Dan the gorgeous Australian surfer guy working in the local deli she can’t help but wonder what it would be like to see the world. He is blonde, tanned, ten years younger and bakes the most amazing lemon cake. Unlike her husband Dan actually listens to Faye, his smile makes her feel fizzy inside, and when he smiles… Oh. My. God. But is Faye being silly? What would Dan see in someone like her? Even if he did have feelings for her, could she give up everything to be with him?     What I say: Without beating about…

A Year of Being Single by Fiona Collins
Reviews / 21st April 2016

What the publisher says:   Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Helen Fielding and Fiona Gibson, A Year of Being Single is the laugh-out-loud debut that everyone’s talking about! Best friends Imogen, Frankie and Grace decide to test whether the grass really is greener on the single side of the fence… Imogen is supposed to be on the most romantic weekend of her life and instead she’s quickly realised that her current boyfriend definitely isn’t ‘The One’ and actually One Big Mistake. Frankie is fed up. Fed up of her good-for-nothing husband and her four, unappreciative children. Well, they hardly notice her anyway, maybe it’s time to shake it up a little… Grace thought she had the perfect life. Gorgeous little boy and perfect, hardworking husband. Or rather, she did, until she realised her husband was shagging his ‘work’. It’s time for a change – and to ditch the men who are dragging them down! It’s time for a year of being single. Swearing off men, these single ladies don’t need to put a ring on it…right?   What I say:   Three friends realise on the same day that their relationships are not healthy and they need to change…

The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan
Reviews / 31st March 2016

What the publisher says: Sunday Times bestselling author Jenny Colgan returns with an hilarious, heartwarming, happy-ever-after as Nina follows her heart – and her dreams – to a new life in the countryside. Given a back-room computer job when the beloved Birmingham library she works in turns into a downsized retail complex, Nina misses her old role terribly – dealing with people, greeting her regulars, making sure everyone gets the right books for their needs. Then a new business nobody else wants catches her eye: owning a tiny little bookshop bus up in the Scottish highlands. No computers. Shortages. Out all hours in the freezing cold; driving with a tiny stock of books… not to mention how the little community is going to take to her, particularly when she stalls the bus on a level crossing…   What I say: I have to admit I am a fan of Jenny Colgan and own several of her books already. When I saw this new paperback release reduced to £1 in the clearance section of my local WHSmiths I knew I had to buy it even though I hadn’t previously seen any reviews of it. I was not disappointed.  I devoured this book in…

%d bloggers like this: