Stable Mates by Zara Stoneley
Reviews / 1st May 2016

What the publisher says: Welcome to tranquil Tippermere, an idyllic village nestled deep in the Cheshire countryside. Home to lords and ladies, horsemen and farmers, and plenty of secrets and scandals… Leaving a scumbag ex behind her, Lottie Brinkley has hotfooted it out of Spain and back home to the country in serious need of some flirtatious fun to soothe her aching heart. Luckily for her she’s spoilt for choice with not one but three eligible bachelors offering a steamy romp in the hay! But faced with the attentions of roguish eventer Rory Steel, the smiling Irish eyes of hunky farrier Mick O’Neal, and mysterious newcomer Tom Strachan, how can she possibly choose? When billionaire landowner Marcus James drops dead unexpectedly, his WAGish wife Amanda threatens to sell the heart of the village and sets her sights on Tom! It seems things are heating up for little Tippermere… both in and out of the saddle. A hilarious, sexy rom com perfect for fans of Jilly Cooper!   What I say:   I bought this book as a special offer promotion for 99p limited time offer.  Otherwise I probably would not have considered this book with its promises of a glitzy…

The Year of Taking Chances by Lucy Diamond
Reviews / 28th April 2016

What the publisher says:   From the bestselling author of The Beach Cafe, Lucy Diamond, comes The Year of Taking Chances, a novel full of warmth, humour and romance. Because love is always worth the risk . . . It’s New Year’s Eve, and Gemma and Spencer Bailey are throwing a house party. There’s music, dancing, champagne and all their best friends under one roof. It’s going to be a night to remember. Also at the party is Caitlin, who has returned to the village to pack up her much-missed mum’s house and to figure out what to do with her life; and Saffron, a PR executive who’s keeping a secret which no amount of spin can change. The three women bond over Gemma’s dodgy cocktails and fortune cookies, and vow to make this year their best one yet. But as the months unfold, Gemma, Saffron and Caitlin find themselves tested to their limits by shocking new developments. Family, love, work, home – all the things they’ve taken for granted are thrown into disarray. Under pressure, they are each forced to rethink their lives and start over. But dare they take a chance on something new?        …

Rumour Has it by Jill Mansell
Reviews / 7th April 2016

What the publisher says:   In RUMOUR HAS IT by bestselling author Jill Mansell, Tilly’s not looking for love, but love certainly has its eye on her! Perfect for readers of Milly Johnson and Lucy Diamond. When newly single Tilly Cole impulsively quits her London job for a fresh start in the small town of Roxborough she finds she’s arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue and rampant rivalry for the most desirable men. Tilly has no intention of joining in – she’s just happy with her new Girl Friday job. Then she meets Jack Lucas. Jack is irresistible… and he’s got his eye on Tilly. But there are shocking rumours about his wicked reputation. Tilly doesn’t want to be just another notch on anyone’s bedpost. But is she being mature and sensible – or is she running away from the love of her life?   Click here to buy: What I Say

Shopaholic to the Rescue by Sophie Kinsella
Reviews / 31st March 2016

What the publisher says: To Las Vegas . . . and beyond! Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) is on a major rescue mission! Hollywood was full of surprises, and now she’s on a road trip to Las Vegas to help her friends and family. She’s determined to get to the bottom of why her dad has mysteriously disappeared, help her best friend Suze and even bond with long-time enemy Alicia Bitch Long-legs (maybe…). As Becky discovers just how much her friends and family need help, she comes up with her biggest, boldest, most brilliant plan yet! So can she save the day just when they need her most? What I Say: I have to say I was looking forward to this book, having read all the other books in the Shopaholic series at some point.  I expected a book that was easy to read with some moments to make me laugh out loud.  I was disappointed on one of these counts.  The book took an afternoon to read as I had bought it as a treat to myself whilst  I was feeling grotty and needed something to make me take it easy.

%d bloggers like this: