House of Christmas Secrets by Lynda Stacey
Reviews / 29th December 2017

What the publisher says: This year we’re just going to have a nice, normal Christmas…  Last year’s Christmas at Wrea Head Hall didn’t quite go to plan which is why Jess Croft is determined this festive season will be the one to remember, for the right reasons. And she has plenty of reasons to be hopeful, she’s going to marry the man of her dreams, Jack Stone, seven days after New Year’s Eve. However, as family secrets are revealed in hidden letters and two unexpected guests turn up on the doorstep, Jess is left wondering whether her life will ever be the same again. Can Jess and Jack still experience a peaceful festive season that they had imagined or are there some problems that even Christmas can’t fix? What I say: We join Jess as she is preparing for Christmas and the New Year while looking back at the events of the previous year.  The author explains to us what happened without repeating the entire book, always a sign for me of a good writer and an enjoyable story to come. This isn’t your usual light hearted Christmas read.  The action takes place at Christmas but this is secondary to…

**BLOG TOUR** It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton
Uncategorised / 8th December 2017

What the publisher says: Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic with a hopeless love life – until now. New beau Dan ticks all the boxes: he’s good-looking, kind and thoughtful. The complete opposite of Bea’s ex, who once threw her out in the middle of the night when she was ill so she didn’t disrupt his sleep.So when her friends point out that she and Dan don’t have fireworks, Bea ignores them. Dan is the whole package. And yet Bea can’t stop comparing him to her best friend Henry… Because Dan doesn’t get Bea’s jokes. Or like books. Or make her laugh until she can’t breathe. Or become speechless when Bea puts on her favourite black dress for a night out… As time goes on, Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. On paper Dan is the perfect man. But in reality… Will Bea be brave enough to ask for more from life – and get the fireworks she deserves?A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.   What I say:   This is the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I do now wonder what I have been missing out on!  Right…

** BLOG TOUR** My Girlfriend’s Perfect Ex-Boyfriend by Peter Jones
Reviews / 27th October 2017

What the publisher says: Adrian Turner, Mountaineer, Secret Agent, Fireman… Ade would dearly like to be any of these things, though he’d trade them all to win the heart of feisty Public Relations Executive, Paige. Instead, he’s a disillusioned school teacher, on suspension, after an unfortunate incident with a heavy piece of computer equipment. And somebody’s foot. And Paige? Despite being his girlfriend for the past eighteen months, she still seems to have one foot out of the door and hasn’t quite committed to leaving a toothbrush in the bathroom. Of course, it doesn’t help that she’s working with her ex-boyfriend, Sebastian. A man who in almost every way imaginable is better, taller, wealthier, hairier, and infinitely more successful than Ade. Is Paige still in love with Sebastian? Why then did she suggest they get away for a few days? Some place romantic… But when Adrian finds himself in Slovenia – with Sebastian in the room down the hall – he realises there’s serious possibility that he’s in danger of losing his job, his mind, and the woman he loves… What I say: This is a romance novel through and through but with one main difference, we see Adrian’s point…

**BLOG TOUR** How Not to Be a Bride by Portia MacIntosh
Reviews / 20th October 2017

What the publisher says: Definitely, maybe…yes? Mia Valentina gave up her high-flying life in LA to move back to Kent over four years ago. But it turns out that life in the slow lane isn’t all it’s cracked up to be! So when her boyfriend Leo proposes, she says yes, hoping it will bring some much needed sparkle back into her life. The trouble is, Mia never wanted a big white wedding, just the happy ever after… What I say: This is the story of the fantastically named Mia Valentina and her boyfriend/fiance Leo.   Mia has returned from Los Angeles where she was living a glamorous life mixing with movie stars as part of her life as a screen writer.  She now finds herself living a solitary existence at home as a novelist, her move meaning she had left behind anyone she could think of as a friend. When her boyfriend proposes (with the full knowledge of her family – eeek!) she is over the moon and yet something seems to be causing her problems when it comes to the organisation of what should be the happiest day of her life.  Throw in her new job shadowing a rock star to learn…

Summer in San Remo by Evonne Wareham
Reviews / 9th October 2017

What the publisher says: Anything could happen when you spend summer in San Remo …  Running her busy concierge service usually keeps Cassie Travers fully occupied. But when a new client offers her the strangest commission she’s ever handled she suddenly finds herself on the cusp of an Italian adventure, with a man she thought she would never see again. Jake McQuire has returned from the States to his family-run detective agency. When old flame Cassie appears in need of help with her mysterious client, who better than Jake to step in? Events take the pair across Europe to a luxurious villa on the Italian Riviera. There, Cassie finds that the mystery she pursues pales into insignificance, when compared to another discovery made along the way … What I say: What a fun book!  Cassie is working hard with her friend Benita to build up her concierge business in Bath while at the same time trying to find Jason who ran off with the contents of her safe, putting her business at risk.  With the need for money taking over she takes on an unusual job, to pose as someone else and collect some documents.  The trouble is, she needs…

%d bloggers like this: